Last Thing On My Mind

Candidates revealed for elections to new North Yorkshire Council

Wednesday, April 6th, 2022 1:27pm

By Jacob Webster, Local Democracy Reporter

The full list of candidates competing in elections for the seats to represent Craven on the new North Yorkshire Council has been revealed.

A total of 33 candidates are competing for nine seats to represent the district on the new unitary authority which will lead North Yorkshire into a new era of local government.

The elections on 5th May are shaping up to be an intense contest as far fewer councillors will be voted in when compared to the 30 members currently serving the district on Craven District Council and North Yorkshire County Council.

Both the existing councils – and the other six district and borough councils across North Yorkshire – will be scrapped when the new unitary authority is created in April 2023.

And those elected will have a say in how key services from planning to social care, and education to highways, are run over the next crucial years of change.

Here are your candidates for the Craven district:

Aire Valley

Andy Brown, Green Party

Stuart William Handley, Conservatives

Bentham and Ingleton

David Lloyd Ireton, Conservatives

Lewis Gareth Morgan, Labour Party

John Michael Smithson, Liberal Democrats

Anne Weinhold, Green Party

Glusburn, Cross Hills and Sutton-in-Craven

Philip Melvin Barrett, Independent

Fran Graham, Green Party

Andy Micklethwaite, Conservatives

Christopher Thorp, Labour Party

Mid Craven

Simon Martin Myers, Conservatives

Simon James Watkins, Green Party

Settle and Penyghent

Luke Robert Allan, Liberal Democrats

Aidan David Higgins, Labour Party

David Michael Staveley, Conservatives

Skipton East and South

Robert Geoffrey Heseltine, Independent

Rick Judge, Independent

Brian Anthony McDaid, Labour Party

Heather Laura Midwinter, Conservatives

Kate Ward, Liberal Democrats

Skipton North and Embsay-with-Eastby

John William Dawson, Conservatives

David Christopher Noland, Green Party

Brian Stuart Shuttleworth, Independent

Phil Street, Yorkshire Party

Michelle Denise Winthrop, Liberal Democrats

Skipton West and West Craven

Peter Geoffrey Madeley, Labour Party

Patrick Thomas Mulligan, Conservatives

Claire Nash, Green Party

Andy Solloway, Independent


Richard William Foster, Conservatives

Chris Rose, Labour Party

Tony Serjeant, Green Party

Siân Elizabeth Wheal, Liberal Democrats

In total, 90 councillors will be voted in to represent 89 new divisions across North Yorkshire.

They will serve one year on North Yorkshire County Council before transitioning to the new unitary authority for a four-year term.

The deadline to register to vote is 14th April – and those who are already on the electoral register should have received a polling card or letter during the last two weeks in March. Polling stations will open from 7am to 10pm on 5th May. Those who are unable to vote in person can apply to vote by post or proxy.


More from Latest local news

Rombalds Radio apps

Today's weather

  • Skipton

    Heavy Rain

    High: 14°C | Low: 7°C

  • Ilkley

    Heavy Rain

    High: 15°C | Low: 7°C

  • Keighley

    Heavy Rain

    High: 15°C | Low: 7°C